Day 23: Bravery

I would not call myself brave in any way, shape or form. It’s because I’m not. I haven’t done anything that I would personally consider brave. Definitely not the kind of person to put myself out there. Then there’s every now and again where I get this courage out of thin air and actually speak my braveness. It doesn’t happen very often but I like it when it does.

I’m really bad at talking about myself apparently. It’s August and this was meant to be done ages ago. I’m not great at this. Talking about bravery makes me feel so little. My bravery isn’t very big and I’m genuinely struggling to write about it. Hence why its taken so bloody long. I don’t have much courage in me. There is some in me and I know that objectively. I just see all of these brave people in my life and the brave characters I read and see in movies and shows. I have never really seen myself as a brave character.

The only character I really saw myself as was Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower. If you haven’t read or seen the movie, do it. It’s so bloody brilliant. Movie and book will work. The author directed the movie and he really does his story justice. Charlie is brave. I see him as brave. He’s brave to keep going after the events of his past and still able to make friends. At the pep rally (correct me if I’m wrong. I’m not an expert on american school events) Charlie gets up and says hi to one of the kids he recognised from one of his classes. I would never do that. I don’t even remember how I even made friends in high school. The first and second year are a complete blur. Third year is when memories actually began to set in.

The people I read and watch and listen about are braver than what I could ever be. I could slowly to become more brave. My life isn’t a brave. My first instinct is to hide and stay away from any danger. To keep myself hidden. This makes sense with considering everything I put myself through with my asexuality and me being gay. I kept myself completely hidden from everyone to make sure I was never hurt.

This is as far as I’m gonna talk about because I literally have nothing left.

Thanks,

Toomuchtime

#theblurtfoundation

Author:

I am a bibliophile who loves reading. I go on Tumblr a lot and enjoy my passion of writing which is something that I want to do with my life possibly

Leave a comment